William Osborn Named 2010 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist Of The Year

Philadelphia, PA - October 25, 2010 - Wlliam E. Osborn, RPh, of Osborn Drugs in Miami, Okla., has been named the 2010 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year by the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA). The award is sponsored by Upsher‐Smith Laboratories, Inc. The announcement was made at the First General Session of the association's 112th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition held here October 23-27.

The Independent Pharmacist of the Year award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and to their community. The award is named in honor of Willard B. Simmons, a former NCPA (then the National Association of Retail Druggists) executive secretary and long-time NCPA Foundation trustee, who exemplified these qualities.

"Willie Osborn is a very deserving recipient of the Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year award because of the quality of services he provides patients, the impact he has on the community he lives in, and his long-standing efforts to grow the ranks of independent community pharmacy owners by partnering with young entrepreneurs looking to break into the business," said Joseph H. Harmison, PD, NCPA President and, Arlington, Tex., pharmacy owner.

Osborn has been the majority owner of Osborn Drugs since 1971. Under his leadership it has been an integral strand of his hometown's social fabric, supporting schools, civic clubs, downtown revitalization, and industrial development. He now owns 23 pharmacies in four states (Oklahoma, Kansas, Arkansas, and Missouri) with 16 partners. Osborn is best known in pharmacy circles as an "enabler"—in the best sense of the word. Through his financial leadership, business advice, and overall support he has helped 13 pharmacists partner with him to become independent store owners.

A graduate of the University of Kansas City School of Pharmacy, Willie and his wife Jane have been married since 1956 and they have five children: three doctors, a lawyer and a PharmD.

"Willie Osborn's effort working with others to build healthy independent pharmacies in his own home town and across four states exemplifies the entrepreneurial spirit and commitment of community pharmacists today," said Mark Evenstad, President of Upsher-Smith Laboratories, Inc. "As a pharmaceutical company owned by a pharmacist, we understand the importance that community pharmacy plays in providing patients with accessible health care. It is with great regard that we congratulate Willie on earning NCPA's 2010 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year award for his contributions to community pharmacy over the past four decades!"

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies, pharmacy franchises, and chains. Together they represent a $93 billion health-care marketplace, have more than 315,000 employees including 62,400 pharmacists, and dispense over 41% of all retail prescriptions. To learn more go to www.ncpanet.org or read NCPA's blog, The Dose, at http://ncpanet.wordpress.com.

Upsher‐Smith Laboratories, Inc. is a rapidly‐growing pharmaceutical company that manufactures and markets both prescription and consumer products. Privately held since 1919, the company strives to recognize the unmet healthcare needs of its customers. Upsher‐Smith prides itself on providing safe, effective and economical therapies to the ever‐challenged healthcare environment. For additional information, visit www.upsher‐smith.com.

Ask Your Family Pharmacist TM