Randall Myers Honored as the 2012 NCPA National Preceptor of the Year

Share |

San Diego, CA (October 15, 2012) Randall Myers, RPh, owner of Harry's Pharmacy in Carey, Ohio, was named the 2012 National Preceptor of the Year by the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation (NCPAF) today at the NCPA 114th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition held October 13-17. The National Preceptor of the Year Award honors a pharmacist who has made significant contributions to the education of pharmacy students by devoting time, talent, and effort as a preceptor.

Myers speaks regularly at several colleges of Pharmacy in Ohio, Michigan and Kentucky presenting on the topics of contemporary community pharmacy practice as well as work-flow design. He is currently the assistant to the advisor for the NCPA Student Chapter at Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy, Ada, Ohio.

Myers is the president of the Ohio Pharmacist's Foundation and past-president of the American College of Apothecaries (ACA). In 2004, he was elected to the Board of Directors of the Pharmacist's Mutual Insurance Company. He was elected to the Board of Trustees of the Community Pharmacy Foundation in 2010.

"Randy is clearly committed to making independent pharmacy the best it can be today and tomorrow by promoting the latest in quality patient care, and supporting the education of our future pharmacists," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "We are proud to call him the 2012 NCPA National Preceptor of the Year winner, because he truly deserves the honor."

Myers has received several awards including: the 1994 Dupont-Pharma Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award (Ohio), the 1998 American College of Apothecaries Albert E. Rosica, Jr. Memorial Award for outstanding contribution to pharmacy education and the 2003 AmerisourceBergen Corporation, Good Neighbor Pharmacy, Pharmacist of the Year. In 2007 he received the Distinguished Achievement Award in Community and Ambulatory Practice from the American Pharmacists Association, and the NCPA Prescription Drug Safety Award.

Myers is a 1982 graduate of the Raabe College of Pharmacy at Ohio Northern University. His store, Harry's Pharmacy, has been in his family for three generations. Randy is also active in his community serving on the Blanchard Valley Hospital Board of Trustees, a member of the Kiwanis Club of Carey, and on the Planning Commission for the Village of Carey.

The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor the previous incarnation of NCPA, the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD) Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation supports the growth of independent community pharmacy through scholarships to pharmacy students, critical research/programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy and patient care, community service programs, and financial aid to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster or other adverse circumstances. For more information, go to www.ncpafoundation.org.

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA®) represents the interests of America's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 independent community pharmacies. Together they represent a $93 billion health care marketplace, dispense nearly 40% of all retail prescriptions, and employ more than 315,000 people, including 62,400 pharmacists. Independent community pharmacists are readily accessible medication experts who can help lower health care spending. They are committed to maximizing the appropriate use of lower-cost generic drugs and reducing the estimated $290 billion that is wasted annually by improper medication use. To learn more go to www.ncpanet.org or read NCPA's blog, The Dose, at http://ncpanet.wordpress.com.

Ask Your Family Pharmacist TM